Vote Against Hate this Election

Hannah Feltz
3 min readOct 15, 2020

I consider myself an informed voter. My interest in politics grew massively when I moved to Washington DC for an internship during college. From then on, I surrounded myself with information regarding the current political climate. While I am an avid follower of politics, I respect the decision for others to not follow as closely. I let others make decisions for themselves while listening and respecting the opinions of those around me. I have seen many individuals make the argument that voting for a candidate does not mean you fully support the ideals of that person. I understood and accepted this argument until this current election.

We are standing at the precipice of an important shift in history. The last four years have been trademarked with injustice, discrimination, and harm. Every day, we battle the cruelty present in our country and live under a leader who allows hate to overpower love and encourages that hatred to grow.

I am so tired. So tired of people making excuses for a public figure that has continually displayed poor character and ethics. I have heard too many people justify the actions of our president. Too many people tell me that they are not going to get involved in politics that “do not concern them.” If you have the privilege to not concern yourself with laws and policies that will destroy the lives of other people, count yourself lucky.

Count yourself lucky to not have a target on your back because of the color of your skin. Count yourself lucky to not be afraid to hold hands with the person you love. Count yourself lucky that you are not terrified to have your healthcare rights stripped away. Count yourself lucky that you do not live in fear of deportation. Count yourself lucky that the results of this election for you is not a matter of life and death.

It is inherently selfish to ignore the voices of those that will be broken and washed away if Trump wins another term. This electoral race is no longer about Democrats versus Republicans. It is now a matter of supporting human rights or being selfish enough to turn a blind eye to the hardships of millions of people. You are either complicit with Trump’s actions and values or brave enough to stand against bigotry and hate. A vote for Trump is a slap in the face to the communities of people that will suffer under his presidency.

I implore all to have empathy. Open your eyes to the hatred festering in America. This hatred will continue to expand if Trump is elected again. I encourage all to look at the people in your life that will be negatively impacted by electing Trump to another term. Keep them in mind as you fill out that ballot. You cannot tell someone you love them and then vote for someone who will hurt them. Recognize your privilege if you have it and vote as if you did not have that privilege.

Not voting is not an option. The argument that you do not support either candidate does not justify your decision not to vote. You should vote. Neither candidate is perfect, but there is clearly one that is better than the other. And if you need to ask who that is, you missed the point of this piece.

I believe in human rights, love, empathy, equity, compassion, science, and equality. It is because of my belief in these things that I can easily reject Trump and his dangerous rhetoric and will be voting against hate. I will be voting for a candidate that respects and protects my identity as a bisexual woman, denounces white supremacy and its followers, safeguards women’s rights, believes in science and climate change, takes life-threatening pandemics seriously, preserves the state of democracy, and ultimately, chooses love.

--

--

Hannah Feltz

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.